July 14, 2024


Appreciate your health

Navratri – Spiritual Importance and Puja Vidhi

Navratri is a festival popularly acknowledged as the pageant of worship and dance. The word Navaratri literally suggests 9 evenings in Sanskrit Nava meaning 9 and Ratri that means nights. Through these 9 nights and days, 9 kinds of Shakti/Devi i.e. female divinity are worshipped. The nine-day festival of Navratri is held in honor of the nine manifestations of Goddess Durga.

The religious importance powering the celebration of Navratri is that the 9 days are divided and devoted to the Trinity of God worshipped in a female kind.

In Hindu mythology the pageant is massively celebrated all over the planet as the victory of good over evil as the Goddess Shakti (Maa Durga) killed buffalo – headed demon, Mahishasura immediately after a lengthy struggle of 9 days and evening on the tenth day, which is celebrated as Vijaya Dashmi These adoration to Mother Goddess is one of a kind to Hinduism.Also dusshera is celebrated on the same day as Lord Rama with the blessings of Maa Durga has gained around Ravana. The festival also marks the arrival of winter season year, a period when mother nature undergoes various climatic improvements. Goddess Shakti in the 9 forms, Maa Shailputri, Maa Brahmachaarini, Maa Chandraghanta, Maa Kushmaanda, Skanda Maa, Maa Kaatyayani, Maa Kaalratri, Maa Mahagauri and Maa Sidhidaarti is worshipped through these nine days for fantastic heath, prosperity, prosperity, information and auspiciousness.

Navratri in 2009 will start off from September 19 until 27 September.

Rituals for accomplishing Puja through Navratri

Navratri puja is quite very simple and not really complex. One particular can conveniently notice the quick even if just one cannot observe the speedy he can simply just recite mantra “Om Ang Haring Kalimg Shreeng Maha Durgay Namah”. Just one should very carefully operate on his/her aahar (food items), vyavhaar (behaviour) and acharan (character) during the time of Navratri.

Aahar – A person ought to generally avoid non vegetarian meals and “Satvik” food like fruits, Kutu Ka Aata, Singara Ka Aata, Curd and Potatoes should really be consumed. Use of Onion and Garlic ought to be prevented.

Vyavhaar and Acharan – All through Navratri festival all devotees ought to worship the female deity with religious emotion (bhav)

In this article is the process for performing Navratri Puja

Get your dwelling cleaned and completely ready. You are inviting Goddess into the dwelling. Normally this is accomplished on the Amavasya, a day right before the starting of Navratri.

On the 1st day of the Navaratri, a modest bed of mud (taken from any auspicious place) is well prepared in the puja space of the house and barley seeds are sown around it. On this Mattress a Kalash designed of Earthen/ Copper is kept and crammed with drinking water. Above the pot a bowl filled with rice is retained. A dry Coconut wrapped with mango leaves is then retained in excess of this kalash. This Kalash is considered to be a symbolic type of Goddess Durga. By retaining kalash one invocates the goddess in the Kalash.

On the tenth working day, the shoots are about 3 – 5 inches in duration. Immediately after the puja, these seedlings are pulled out and presented to devotees as a blessing from god. This Kalash should not be touched all through the nine days. A person diya is lit close to this Kalash which is intended to burn off endlessly for 9 times. This is recognised as Akhand Jyoti.

A lot of people today believe that the size of the Shoots decides the Quantum of revenue that they will have in coming 6 months. This belief could have been because India is mainly an agrarian economic system whereby the productivity of the land determined one’s money.


The working day commences with a recital of Sanskrit hymns by the devotees they offer you prayer to the goddess. Kumari Puja or the worship of little women as the mother goddess is a special element of the rituals noticed in a range of common and home pujas.


The pageant of Navratri culminates in Mahanavami. On this working day Kanya Puja is executed. 9 young girls representing the 9 varieties of Goddess Durga are worshiped. Their feets are washed as a mark of respect for the Goddess and then they are provided food primarily consisting of kala chana, halwa and poori along with coconut pieces and dakshina (cash) and Red chunri is offerd to the kanjaks.

Vijaya Dashami

Just after the nine days of Puja, on Dashami, the last day also termed Vijaya Dashami, the visuals of Goddess Durga are carried in processions close to the locality by the devotees and eventually are immersed in a nearby river or lake.

Colors of Navratri

Durga Navratri is the most sacred and most celebrated competition season in India which has a distinctive tradition of shades. Colors also engage in a essential purpose through this festival. People should decide colours according to each factor of Devi. The colours symbolize the nine avatars or incarnations or manifestations of Goddess Durga Maa.

1st day

The 1st working day is contributed to Durga Shailputri. She is the daughter of Himalaya and initial among nine Durgas who retains trishul in the right hand and a flower in the remaining hand. Carrying White/Crimson colour will be auspicious on this day

2nd day

The 2nd working day signifies Durga Brahamcharini. Here “Brahma” means “Tapa”. The idol of this Goddess is believed to be incredibly lovely providing the information of really like to the complete world. There is rosary (mala) in her ideal hand and Kamandal in left hand. She is comprehensive with merriment. Folks can have on Saffron/ Peach/ Light Yellow on the working day

3rd working day

The 3rd day is of Durga Chandraghanta. The Goddess establishes justice in all places and dress in crescent moon on her forehead. She is charmful and brilliant is seated on Lion and completely ready for heading in war to fight. She is unparalleled image of bravery. Carrying White/ Pink coloration on this day would be incredibly fruitful for the devotees.

4th working day

Devoted to Durga Kushmanda the working day signifies the resource of offering standard requirements to all. This sort of Durga is reported to be the creator of the universe. People should put on Blue/ White/ Saffron color on this working day.

5th working day

The fifth day of Navratri signifies Durga Skanda. The Goddess presents the reward of differentiation of ideal from incorrect to the environment. Wearing Green/ Crimson/ White coloured garments will be auspicious for the devotees.

6th working day

The sixth working day of Navratri is devoted to Durga Katyayani. It is believed that Maa Katyayani persistently battles from the evil and deceitful entities. Crimson/ White color should be utilised to use on this day.

7th working day

The seventh day of Navratri is focused to Durga Kalratri. Kalaratri is the a person of the fiercest sorts of Durga and her overall look alone evokes anxiety. This type of Goddess is thought to be the destroyer of all demon entities. Blue/ Crimson/ White shade need to be employed to use on this working day.

8th working day

The eighth working day of Navratri signifies Maha Gauri part of Goddess Durga. Durga Ashtami Puja is held in a lot of sections of India. Putting on Pink/ Saffron/ Yellow/ White/ Pink colour would be auspicious for the devotees on this working day.

9th working day

Devoted to Goddess Siddhidatri variety of Durga the day is also noticed as Mahanavami in lots of elements of the nation. This kind of Goddess Durga showers awareness which can make every single soul pure. Folks can put on Crimson/ White colour on this working day.